Help! Where's the buttons?

Help! Where's the buttons?

Postby Lyric080 » Mon Dec 14, 2015 5:56 am

Hiya guys.

Total noob here, but this game looks so promising so can't wait to start.

I got Glulx on the computer and also downloaded all the gblorb files and other exe files associated with it all.

My question is though.

Is there any way to play the game without hyperlinks or keypad presses? I mean like getting the hypertext choices into buttons you press instead?

It just seems so very small and unhandy clicking on all the small hyperlinks when playing the game (even though it's better than typing everything).

So.. You know. Have an interface of some sorts?

Thank you beforehand and appreciate all the great work you're doing :-)
Lyric080

Re: Help! Where's the buttons?

Postby TigerStripes » Mon Dec 14, 2015 7:13 pm

As for buttons, hyperlinks are probably as close as we can get to buttons w/Inform, but the new engine we're working on will have a button-based interface instead of typed commands.
TigerStripes

Postby Lyric080 » Tue Dec 15, 2015 7:52 am

Yay!

Thank you for the response Tiger.

I'm looking forward to try out the new engine.

Is it correctly understood that if I've already started a game, that when the new engine is introduced, you'll be able to keep playing it in the new engine?
Lyric080

Postby TigerStripes » Wed Dec 16, 2015 4:07 am

Lyric080 wrote:Is it correctly understood that if I've already started a game, that when the new engine is introduced, you'll be able to keep playing it in the new engine?

You'll need to start a new game from scratch when you switch over to the new engine, but it should allow for complete saving and restoration (eventually).
TigerStripes

Postby ElSterno » Wed Dec 16, 2015 7:30 am

TigerStripes wrote:
Lyric080 wrote:Is it correctly understood that if I've already started a game, that when the new engine is introduced, you'll be able to keep playing it in the new engine?