The Inventory

The Inventory

Postby Olla » Thu Aug 28, 2014 1:54 pm

I've leached this game for years so I decided id try and help the project a little, if no one minds that is :3

I'm not a writer so what I plan on doing is attempting to improve some of the game code if I'm able.

Firstly my eyes are set on the inventory, i cant be the only one who has noticed that the inventory becomes ass slow when there are more than 10 items in it,
For now ill start working on an extension and place my inventory code in there with out interfering with the original code base.

Now if this is ok with everyone feel free to tell me what I should or shouldn't do in here.
Olla

Re: The Inventory

Postby Wahn » Thu Aug 28, 2014 2:24 pm

Yay! Tech support :)

You're very welcome on the team.
Wahn

Postby xinacs » Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:20 pm

Mh... I got the impression that Olla ran into problems (like the usual "no more time" effect ^^), so I wanted to have a look at this. Also: As a programmer I was curious about this Inform7 and have to say it is the weirdest "programming language" I came across in my history. Xd

To make a long story short:
I was able to speed up the inventory a little bit and changed some smaller things (e.g. the second column is no longer pushed to the right if the left entry has a (*) to show it is used).
If you're interested I would check it in (if I get the permission to push to this git hub from you first), so some experienced FS authors can have a look at it. :)
At the moment it is a separate file that can be included to use "scxinv" in the same way you would use "inv".
xinacs

Postby nukuv » Fri Feb 13, 2015 7:05 am

If the code works without horrible bugs, do push it right along.
nukuv
Site Admin

Postby xinacs » Fri Feb 13, 2015 7:59 am

the thing is: github tells me somthing like: "You are not authorized." Xd
Am I missing something here?
I have to say that - although I am working with git at work - I've never pushed something to github.

Edit: